Evaluation and inspirations

 

In the course of completing this project I encountered several obstacles. I was unsure how a DSLR worked and how the settings would affect the outcome. As it was also the first time I had worked in a photography studio, the lighting and measuring the power of flash proved to be a task for me. While working on this project, I quickly learnt the basic settings and how to use a light meter. I feel that this introduction to the use of DSLRs boosted my confidence in handling SLR cameras and gave me more of an understanding of how they operate. Uploading images and editing was also made easy by this camera. As a visual communicator, this new-found knowledge will help me significantly in my course, not to mention its usefulness in my future career.

 

After trying out these cameras, I decided to use portraiture as my main focus. I completed some test shoots and found it somewhat challenging trying to adjust the light so my images would not be too bright and not show enough shadow to compliment the facial structure. The more time I spent in the studio, the more I began to evolve. I then decided to take some full length figure shots and research fashion photography. I found this less challenging and more interesting in a way. I wanted to incorporate some of my visual communication ideas and add simple illustration to gain more of a visually interesting effect.

 

I used a number of basic technologies which included photoshop, scanners, printers etc. No real problems occurred with any of the process allowing me to document many of my images. I tried to ristrict myself from the use of photoshop because I wanted to try another form of illustration, drawing by hand.

 

My main inspirations were the photographers Jill Greensberg and Maki Kawatika. The main reason I was so interested in their work was because they didn’t stick to the familiar portrait and fashion photography guidelines and produce traditional or clichéd images. Instead, they both were adventurous enough to step outside of the boundaries and produce visually stimulating photographs. In the future I hope to continue using DSLR’s and try out Fashion Photography in depth using studio and outside locations.

 

If I were to tackle this project again, I would have spent more time documenting my process even though I felt that a great deal of the available time was spent learning how to use an SLR and taking images than researching. I have decided to display my final images on card hopefully giving my photos a more professional look. Overall I was happy with the outcome of my final images and even happier with the knowledge I have gained from this project.

 

Leave a comment